Personal tools
You are here: Home Adult Education Torah/Tanach Study
Document Actions

Shabbat Morning Torah/Tanach Study Group

Participant-led group meets on Shabbat mornings to discuss the Torah and the rest of the Tanach over refreshments

For the study of Torah encompasses them all

A lively group of congregants and visitors gather over refreshments each Shabbat morning at 9:00 a.m. to discuss the week's Torah/Haftarah portion. A member of the group introduces the portion and the conversation takes off—generally exploring issues and insights raised by the portion, often touching on such familiar themes as religious experience, the meaning of ritual or Jewish ethics, but frequently going in totally unexpected directions. The formal conversation ends about 10:00 a.m., but the thoughts (and friendly arguments) are likely to continue through the morning service and into the week. Everyone is welcome. No prerequisites or commitment. Drop in and share your thoughts with us.

Resources and links.

Questions? Email the Tanach/torah study group coordinator.


Tanach Portion/Reading & Sign-up List:

 

Date

Torah Portion

Haftarah Portion

Leader

Refreshments

Sept. 20 Nitzavim Va-Yelech
Deut. 29:9-31:30
Is. 61:10-63:9
Francie
Noel
Sept.27 Ha-azinu, Shabat Shuvah
Deut. 32:1-52
Hosea 14:2-10, Joel 2:15-27, Micah 7:18-20
Ivan

Oct.4

Yom Kipper

Oct.11 Ex. 33:12-34:26 ? Ecl.
Ez.38:18-37:7


Oct.18 Bereshit
Gen.1:1-6:8
Is.42:25-43:10

Oct.25 Noah
Gen.6:9-11:35
Is.66:1-24


Nov.1 Lech Lacha
Gen.12:1-17:27
Is.40:27-41:16


Nov.8 Va-Yera
Gen.23:1-25:18
II Kings 4:1-31


Nov.15 Chayyei Sarah
Gen.23:1-25:18
I Kings 1:1-31


Nov.22 Toledot
Gen.25:19-28:9
I Sam.20:18-42


Nov.29 Va-Yetzay
Gen.28:10-32:3
Hosea 12:13-14:10


Dec.6 Va-Yishlach
Gen.32:4-36:43
Obadiah 1:1-21


Dec.13 Va-Yeshev
Gen37:1-40:23
Amos 2:6-3:8



Mark Your Calendar

Saturday, September 20, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: Nitzavim Va-Yelech, Deut.29:9-31:30; Haftarah: Is. 61:10-63:9 ; Leader: Francie; Refreshments: Noel

Saturday, September 27, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: Ha-azinu, Shabat Shuva, Deut. 32:1-52; Haftarah: Hosea 14:2-10, Joel 2:15-27, Micah7:18-20 ; Leader: Ivan ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, October 11, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, October 18, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, October 25, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, November 1, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, November 8, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, November 15, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, November 22, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, November 29, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, December 6, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, December 13, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, December 20, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, December 27, 2014. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, January 3, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, January 10, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, January 17, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, January 24, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, January 31, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, February 7, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, February 14, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, February 21, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, February 28, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, March 7, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, March 14, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, March 21, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, March 28, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, April 4, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, April 11, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, April 18, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, April 25, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: .; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, May 2, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, May 9, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading:

Saturday, May 16, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, May 23, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, May 30, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, June 6, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, June 13, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, June 20, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, June 27, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

Saturday, July 4, 2015. 09:00 am - 10:00 am.   Torah/Tanach Study at Downstairs Library.   Reading: ; Haftarah: ; Leader: ; Refreshments: TBA

by David Diskin last modified 09-19-2014 09:47 AM
 

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: